A Little Vacation Video

I was in Colorado for a few days late last week to early this week.  It had been 13 years since I visited the mountains, and it was great to see them again. 

On one of my adventures, I drove to the top of Mount Evans, about 60 miles west of Denver.  Mt. Evans is one of over 50 peaks in Colorado that are over 14,000 feet.  The road that took me to the summit is the highest paved road in North America.  It is narrow with no side rails.  In fact, it’s a bit scary knowing that my tires were only inches from the edge of the mountain.

Here’s a bit of video that my daughter shot while we were driving down the mountain.  It looks like I am speeding, but I’m actually going about 15 mph.

While many people drive to the top, others chose to ride their bikes.  I can’t believe how good of shape one would have to be in to make that trip.  It took about 30 minutes to go up the mountain by car.

The weather at the top was cloudy with patches of fog as the clouds moved over the summit.  The temperature was in the 40s.  Sure beats the 100s that Oklahoma has been experiencing.  We decided we better head home when we saw lightning.  On a side note, while we were at the summit we ran into some college friends that we had not seen in about ten years.  What a small world!

If you want more information on Mount Evans, here’s the Wikipedia link:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mount_Evans

I’m off for a few more days, but I’ll be back at work on Monday.

Rick

2 Responses

  1. I dig it Rick! Care to take next week off and climb some of the surround 14’ers?? Bierstadt? Torreys? Gray?
    -Damon

  2. Looks like 100mph to me! :-O

Leave a Reply

